PEARLS OF WISDOM

There was an incident when I was a little girl.

While most kids are rushed to the ER in order to dislodge the pea that they jammed up their tiny nostril – and my little Bean has even been known to eat a crayon or two – when my poor mom made that fateful call to the pediatrician my experimenting had been less obvious…although, as a devotedly incisive mother, she is quick to remind me that the episode was at least revealing of my character. You see, it seems that I decided to play trial and error with a loose pearl that I found on my mother’s dresser. And low and behold, the pearl went missing…somewhere inside of my head. Despite the fact that I was the same little girl who obsessively gathered worms at the playground, the pull of that precious treasure was even then too much for me to bare. And in my ear canal that pretty pearl went.

I have long since recovered and so has my mother’s shame (unless you count the time I “accidentally” died my hair yellow while living in London). But despite an obvious adoration for things that sparkle, I have long since had an aversion to these rare baubles. Lately though, I’ve been gravitating towards bold vintage pieces that incorporate the delicate ladylike nuggets and now the pull of the pearl is back.

Because the feminine white strands have always made me feel a little too conservative, despite their innately classic aesthetic, I prefer to show them off in unexpected pieces paired with more casual looks. Here is my latest go-to getup for playing with pearls, which will now remain securely on my ears…

Pearls of Wisdom Board

1. COAT 2. GARLAND COLLECTION VINTAGE DE MARIO PEARL CLUSTER EARRINGS 3. SWEATER 4. JEANS 5. NOTEBOOK 6. SHOES 7. SUNGLASSES AND CHAIN.

2 thoughts on “PEARLS OF WISDOM

Leave a Reply

