NONE THE WORSE FOR WEAR + Surf & City Packing Lists

No matter where in the world we travel, be it Botswana or Belize, Baja or Boca, there is always one setback that I can count on and, regrettably for me, it’s not delayed flights or lost baggage. To my unbridled discontent and even preemptive stern warnings, my husband will, without humility or even self-awareness, wander the hotel’s grounds and enjoy the property’s amenities clad in nothing more than his complimentary hotel bathrobe.

I have stumbled upon him enjoying the open view of the bush in the lobby of a South African lodge in this getup, jovially greeting stunned new arrivals as they checked in. I have found Mike in his man-robe, enjoying a snack by the pool in Florence while sophisticated Europeans enjoyed Prosecco nearby. Most recently I witnessed him dressed for a bubble bath while reveling in a nightcap at a quaint boutique hotel in the Berkshires. The other couples still wearing appropriate cocktail attire were at least inebriated enough at that hour to be easily amused.

Mike firmly insists, “That’s what the robe is there for.” I cannot imagine that the other guests who enter the business center to find Mike tapping away in terrycloth would agree. We have never stayed at a nudist colony.

To add insult to injury, he wears the plush wrap tied low, Tony Soprano style, and balances out the show of misinformed masculinity that is the chest hair peaking out of the over-exposed neckline by completing this well-edited ensemble with the equally flattering, and also complimentary, bedside slipper mules. I mean, he can’t wander Ojai barefoot, right?

I shouldn’t be surprised. This is the same person who has coined the phrase “No Pants Tuesday.” You see, Mike spends this day with our boys, taking them out for a “Dudes Lunch” and then to a wild afternoon of bonding at the playground. Just envisioning my three men together out on the town truly warms my heart, which is what I like to focus on. Because when I arrive home at the end of the day, eager to see my crew, and even though Mama has curated an enviable wardrobe for Sweetlips and The Bean, no one is ever wearing pants. Because it’s “No Pants Tuesday.”  (He swears that everyone leaves the house fully clothed.)

So, when despite my earlier protests, I do inevitably encounter my husband swathed in his jetsetting finest and chatting up other fully clothed patrons who are trying to engage in polite conversation while praying that this affable guy has boxers under there, I try to take a photograph to document my plight. When it comes to marriage, always have proof.

I like to send these displays of mortification to The Outlaw. Why do I bother to involve her? Because she made this bed and now I have to sleep in it. You see, it is my opinion that this sort of blissful oblivion to basic human protocol had to be ingrained as either acceptable during childhood, or at the very least it was consciously overlooked. So while this may seem like a coping mechanism, I blame my mother-in-law for all of her son’s shenanigans, and if I have to suffer through them now, I’m not going to let her retire and take a cruise. As she always says, “Hey, you married him.” Yeah, well you made him.

Yet, we’re still traveling.  The truth is, against my better judgment, I can’t help but laugh. I’m literally an enabler of the inane. When I give a stern warning, it’s simply because I fear that we won’t be allowed to return, not because I want to change him. As his co-parent, I’m glad that Mike is showing the boys to take life seriously by making the details more fun, just as The Outlaw showed him. And I can only hope that one day Sweetlips and The Bean’s partners will continue to bring me in on the joke. Even in our darkest moments, I believe that we pressed through because we’ve been able to unearth even the slightest morsels of humor or levity. Or, in the case of the bathrobe, which my husband truly believes that the hotel has offered for his all-inclusive comfort, I’ve learned to just let certain things go for the sake of my sanity.

The bottom line is, he has no shame and for fourteen years this has been good for me who has plenty. While he’s lucidly padding around a resort in a bathrobe and slippers, you can be sure that I am meticulously accessorized within an inch of my life. We balance each other.

What can I say? Love is blind.

In honor of Valentine’s Day and the ones I love, I’m embracing the bathrobe. Below is my favorite post-pool attire for the little men in my life. A family friend sent the petite robes emblazoned with studly monograms when the boys were born and now they are one of my go-to gifts. The robes come in adult sizes as well, but while I’m forgiving, I don’t need to be a martyr.

American Terry Co. Monogram boy robeAmerican Terry Co. Kid’s Bathrobe

And while my husband is clad in a bathrobe, I prefer to be appropriately dressed for all occasions. I mean, one of us has to, right? So for those of you that are ready for a winter getaway of your own, here’s my go-to packing list:

Surf City Blog Board

SURF: GARLAND COLLECTION YELLOW GOLD LARGE ROPE EARRINGS; DRESS; GARLAND COLLECTS VINTAGE CADORO LUCITE CHUNKY NECKLACE; SANDALS; BOOK; SWIMSUIT; GARLAND COLLECTION YELLOW GOLD LOVE ID BRACELET; SUNGLASSES

CITY: GARLAND COLLECTION VINTAGE CRYSTAL BOWTIE NECKLACE; SHIRT; GARLAND COLLECTION BLACK RHODIUM AND DIAMON STAR EARRINGS; CLUTCH; PANTS; SHOES; GUIDE; JACKET

3 thoughts on “NONE THE WORSE FOR WEAR + Surf & City Packing Lists

  1. Pingback: GOLD DIGGER | UP CHIC'S CREEK

Leave a Reply

